Phineas Phisher Interview

Phineas Phisher is a hacker’s hacker, the persona that took its name from the takedown of FinFisher maker Gamma Group, and the one who pillaged Italy’s Hacking Team, has given one of ‘his’ truly rare interviews.

 

As a surveillance software author … it troubles me to listen to this. The software I’ve written has been used against right wing hate groups and jihadists … but the first paying opportunity I had to turn down, because I literally knew activists in the country that was inquiring.

I am opposed to potentially violent political actors, both at home and abroad, but I don’t see a way to sell the system I’ve built without losing control of what it does, and seeing it turned on activists and journalists.

 

Leave a Reply

