Meaningless Metric: Profile Views

NealRauhauser-ranking-2016-06-08

There has been a lot of chatter about LinkedIn’s changes in recent weeks. After much rage, someone found a post from LI engineering that indicates they’re expecting a 10x-30x performance boost moving their machine learning from Hadoop to Spark/Yarn based stuff with a new learning library, Photon ML, which they open sourced.

I was about 250th a few weeks ago, which is a ‘ground state’ for me. My natural notoriety keeps a steady trickle of visits happening even if I don’t do anything. Do I care that I’m now the 129th most seen among my 724 contacts? Not really.

What matters are things like:

If I spend too much time thinking about how to move to 128th on that list, that’s time I’m not spending on learning Solidity well enough to create digital tokens.

 

Things are changing this summer, from the arrival of The DAO, to some long overdue surgical attention on a damaged disk in my neck. Right now my queue is about 25% utilized. Once the surgery is done that’s going to shift to about 75%, and the key metric will be the revenue that networking generates.

So don’t worry too much about this one dimensional leaderboard; if you feel something is off base, feel your way around a bit by trying some new things. You may be pleasantly surprised by what you find.

 

One thought on “Meaningless Metric: Profile Views

  1. Pingback: Another Meaningless Metric | Neal Rauhauser

Leave a Reply

