Hashtag & Humans

Completing the process of entering the Wikistrat people into my base graph, which I entitled Wikistrat-Full-Organization, brought me five more Twitter accounts – for a total of thirty two.

Wikistrat Twitter Accounts

Wikistrat Twitter Accounts

I used the transform to pull all the tweets for each account and I set it to return up to fifty.

32 Wikistrat Twitter accounts, up to 50 tweets from each.

32 Wikistrat Twitter accounts, up to 50 tweets from each.

Once I had the tweets I used a transform to extract the hashtags. What I was hoping for here was to discover topic specific hashtags, such as the names of countries or regions, where Wikistrat experts congregate for discussions.

Twitter accounts, tweets, and extracted hashtags.

Twitter accounts, tweets, and extracted hashtags.

I was waiting for long periods of time for results so I backed off to the smallest possible return – just twelve tweets per account. I pulled the hashtags from them, eliminated the tags that were associated with a single tweet, and came up with this.

A small number of Twitter accounts, tweets, and hashtags.

A small number of Twitter accounts, tweets, and hashtags.

There was a small hashtag cluster – four tags that all had to do with the Mideast, and each had two or more tweets associated.

05-Mideast

There were a couple of food enthusiasts in the mix and a hashtag cluster associated with their discussion.

06-food

And then there was August Cole. Doesn’t say all that much, but used the same couple of hashtags for several things.

07-august-cole

This is a process demonstration and it worked well enough for our purposes. If I were going to do this on a regular basis or handle large volumes of data I would probably develop methods within Maltego and then code something to do the work, once I had a solid grasp of the problem.

3 thoughts on “Hashtag & Humans

  1. Pingback: Wikistrat Investigation Summary | Neal Rauhauser

  2. Pingback: Professionalism & Propaganda | Neal Rauhauser

  3. Pingback: Propaganda & Professionalism Revisited | Neal Rauhauser

Leave a Reply

